Wizkid Nominated for Soul Train Music Awards 2019

After the huge success of the just concluded Starboy Fest on the 18th, 19th and 26th of October in Manchester, London and Paris respectively, one of Nigeria’s greatest assets Wizkid has been been nominated for the 2019 Soul Train Music Awards.


The Joro crooner made it to the list as a result of his collaboration with Saint Jhn, Blue Ivy Carter and Beyonce on their recently released hit song, Brown Skin Girl.

Wizkid was nominated in two different categories: Best collaboration and the Songwriters award.

See the full list of nominees below.

Best Collaboration

Ari Lennox feat. J. Cole, “Shea Butter Baby”

Beyoncé feat. Saint Jhn, Wizkid & Blue Ivy Carter, “Brown Skin Girl”

Cardi B & Bruno Mars, “Please Me”

Chris Brown feat. Drake, “No Guidance”

PJ Morton & JOJO, “Say So”

Ty Dolla $ign feat. J. Cole, “Purple Emoji”

Best New Artist

Lucky Daye


Nicole Bus

Pink Sweat$

Summer Walker

YK Osiris

Soul Train Certified Award


Daniel Caesar



Kelly Rowland

Trevor Jackson

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Bebe Winans

Donald Lawrence

Erica Campbell

Kirk Franklin

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Tori Kelly

Rhythm & Bars Award

21 Savage feat J. Cole, “A Lot”

Cardi B, “Money”

DaBaby, “Suge”

J. Cole, “Middle Child”

Meek Mill feat. Drake, “Going Bad”

Megan Thee Stallion feat. DaBaby, “Cash Shit”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Ari Lennox




Mary J. Blige

Summer Walker

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Anderson .Paak

Bruno Mars

Chris Brown

Daniel Caesar



Album/Mixtape of the Year

Shea Butter Baby, Ari Lennox

Indigo, Chris Brown

Ella Mai, Ella Mai

I Used To Know Her, H.E.R.

Free Spirit, Khalid

Cuz I Love You, Lizzo

Song of the Year

“Before I Let Go,” Beyoncé

“No Guidance,” Chris Brown feat. Drake

“Shot Clock,” Ella Mai

“Talk,” Khalid

“Juice,” Lizzo

“Girls Need Love (Remix),” Summer Walker feat. Drake

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Brown Skin Girl,” written by Beyoncé Knowles, Carlos St. John, Adio Marchant, Shawn Carter, Stacy Barthe, Anathi Mnyango, Michael Uzowuru, Ayodeji Balogun, Richard Isong (Beyoncé feat. Saint Jhn, Wizkid & Blue Ivy Carter)

“Hard Place,” written by H.E.R., David Harris, Sam Ashworth & Ruby Amanfu (H.E.R.)

“Juice,” written by Theron Thomas, Sam Sumser, Sean Small, Eric Frederic & Melissa Jefferson (Lizzo)

“Make It Better,” written by Brandon Anderson, William Smokey Robinson, Alaina Chenevert, Miguel Atwood Ferguson, Daniel Manman Farid Nassar (Anderson .Paak feat. Smokey Robinson)

“No Guidance,” written by Christopher Brown, Aubrey Graham, Anderson Hernandez, Josha Lewis, Michee Lebrun, Nija Charles, Teddy Walton, Noah Shebib & Tyler Bryant (Chris Brown feat. Drake)

“Talk,” written by Howard Lawrence, Guy Lawrence & Khalid Robinson (Khalid)

Best Dance Performance

Beyoncé, “Spirit”

Chris Brown feat. Drake, “No Guidance”

Danileigh feat. Chris Brown, “Easy (Remix)”

Lizzo, “Juice”

Normani, “Motivation”

Teyana Taylor, “WTP”

Video of the Year

Alicia Key, “Raise A Man” Beyoncé, “Spirit”

Childish Gambino, “Feels Like Summer”

Khalid, “Better”

Lizzo, “Juice”