Presidency debunks Donald Trump’s plan to ban Nigerians in US

donald trump
Nigeria has been reportedly listed as one of the seven countries Donald Trump wants to ban from the United States.

The president of the United States of America, Donald Trump, shared his intention to ban some certain countries. The countries are: Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania. These countries will face bans on some visa categories, Wall Street Journal reports.

However, on Wednesday, 22nd of January, the senior special assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Malam Garba Shehu debunked the report. He said it was just a mere speculation which should not be taken serious.


He said, “Yes, we have read the news that the Trump administration is planning to add a host of African, Asian and Eastern European countries to its travel restrictions list as reported by the US media”.


“We are not going to react to speculations. We urge you to wait for us to see what unfolds under the new policy, its scope, its reach, the implications, and its consequences before we react.”

This is obviously not the first time Trump is making a move like this. Trump signed the original travel ban which intently denied visas to citizens of seven majority Muslim countries. It was barely a week into his tenure when this happened 27 January, 2017.

The supreme court however allowed a third iteration of the order to go to effect. Chad was removed from the original list but the iteration went on. The iteration restricted some citizens from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, along with Venezuela and North Korea.


Meanwhile Gistcandy reported that Nigerian rapper, Yung6ix reveals he has lost the respect he had for MI Abaga for not supporting his music career.

The aggrieved rapper made this known via his Twitter page on Thursday, January 23, 2020, while responding to a radio station that shared a song he featured MI Abaga. Read more.